Empire News Africa

African Entertainment News Online…

S.Sudan, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon lose UN voting rights over dues

Spread the love

South Sudan, Equatorial Guinea  and Gabon and are in arrears on paying dues to the United Nations’ working price range and are amongst six nations which have misplaced their voting rights within the 193-member Normal Meeting, the U.N. chief mentioned in a letter circulated Thursday (Jan.19).

Additionally dropping voting rights are Dominica, Venezuela and Lebanon, Secretary-Normal Antonio Guterres mentioned.

Gabon is serving a two-year time period on the Safety Council although its voting rights there will not be affected.

The U.N. Constitution states that members whose arrears equal or exceed the quantity of their contributions for the previous two full years lose their voting rights. Nevertheless it additionally provides the Normal Meeting the authority to determine “that the failure to pay is because of situations past the management of the member,” and in that case a rustic can proceed to vote.

The Normal Meeting determined that three African nations on the record of countries in arrears — Comoros, Sao Tome and Principe and Somalia — would have the ability to maintain their voting rights. It granted the three nations the identical exemption final yr.

In response to the secretary-general’s letter, the minimal funds wanted to revive voting rights are $76,244,991 for Venezuela, $1,835,303 for Lebanon, $619,103 for Equatorial Guinea, $196,130 for South Sudan, $61,686 for Gabon, and $20,580 for Dominica.