Empire News Africa

African Entertainment News Online…

Governor Akeredolu wins APC’s ticket to contest in Ondo governorship election

Spread the love

The governor swept to overwhelming victory in the party’s primary election which took place in Akure, the state capital, on Monday, July 20, 2020.

Four aspirants who were originally cleared by the party dropped out of the race hours to the election, leaving Akeredolu to contest against Olusola Oke, Olayide Owolabi Adelami, Isaacs Kekemeke, Olajumoke Olubusola Anifowoshe, Joseph Olusola Iji, Awodeyi Akinsehinwa Akinola, and Adetula Olubukola Olarogha.

The governor polled 2,725 votes and won in all 18 local government areas of the south western state, putting a huge distance between himself and the seven other aspirants who contested.

#left5::before{ content: “AD”; font-size: .6em; text-align: center; display: block; color: #bfbbbb7d; }

Oke finished second with 262 votes, while Kekemeke finished third with 19 votes.

Chairman of the election, Kogi State’s Governor Yahaya Bello, declared Akeredolu the party’s flag bearer in the Ondo State governorship election scheduled for October 10.

The 63-year-old’s victory comes just two weeks after he recovered from the coronavirus disease that has killed infected over 37,000 people, and killed 801 patients in Nigeria, as of July 20.

“4+4 is the code for continuity,” the governor posted on Twitter after confirmation of his victory.

The governor’s potential opponent could be his current deputy governor, Agboola Ajayi, who recently dumped the APC for the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) to enable him contest for the governor’s seat.